Vergleich

Best pocket sprung mattresses

The best pocket sprung mattress for most UK sleepers is a medium-firm model with fibre or wool fillings you are happy to sleep on, judged on its spring density and build rather than the biggest number on the label. This ranking sets traditional tufted mattresses against IKEA's foam-topped pocket sprung models and two hybrids, and compares them on spring density, fillings, firmness, turning, the home trial and the price in single, double and king size.

10 Produkte im Vergleich
bis 365 Nächte Probeliegen
28.09.2026 Aktualisiert
Paata Aktualisiert 28 September 2026
Best pocket sprung mattresses: UK picks by springs and fillings

Ranking

Best pocket sprung mattresses: Testsieger im Detail

Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1200 Pocket
Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1200 PocketSilentnight Comfort Breathe 1200 PocketSilentnight Comfort Breathe 1200 Pocket
Best overall

Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1200 Pocket

The Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1200 Pocket leads because it is a true traditional build at a mainstream price, with 1200 Mirapocket springs under a breathable fibre layer, no foam, a 25cm depth and UK manufacture to order. A king costs £599, against £1,049 for the Sleepeezee Wool Luxe 2800, which scores one point more. The weak spot is the trial, a 60-night comfort exchange rather than a refund.

Vorteile
  • 1200 Mirapocket springs, medium/firm
  • Fibre comfort layer, no foam
  • Mesh border lets air out at the sides
  • All five UK sizes, handmade in the UK
Nachteile
  • 60-night exchange, not a refund
  • One spec block on Silentnight's page says 1000 springs
  • Five-year guarantee only
Mehr Produktdaten
Material
1200 Mirapocket pocket springs, a Comfort Breathe fibre comfort layer, a protective layer over the springs, a mesh border for airflow and a hypoallergenic sleep surface.
Höhe
25 cm
Hergestellt in
United Kingdom
Live Silentnight: 25% off dual climate mattress Zum Angebot
8.0/10 Gut
ab £379
Zum Angebot → Anzeige Testbericht lesen
  • Probeliegen: 60 Nächte
  • Garantie: 5 Jahre
  • Härte: Mittelfest
Emma Original Pro
Emma Original ProEmma Original Pro
Best hybrid

Emma Original Pro

If you want pocket springs under a foam comfort layer, the Emma Original Pro is the one we recommend, and it is the only mattress on this page we have slept on ourselves. Its seven-zone spring core sits under ThermoSync, Airgocell and MemoryAdapt foams in a 27cm build, and it stayed cool for us through a summer while feeling firmer than Emma's 3 out of 5 rating. It scores higher than the Silentnight above it but ranks second because Emma publishes no spring count and four foam layers set its feel, which is not what most buyers of a pocket sprung mattress are after.

Vorteile
  • Seven-zone pocket spring core
  • Stayed cool for us through a summer
  • 200-night trial with a full refund
  • 10-year guarantee
Nachteile
  • No spring count published
  • Four foam layers, including memory foam
  • Firmer than Emma's 3 of 5 rating
Mehr Produktdaten
Material
Removable 100% polyester premium cover (40°C wash), graphite-infused ThermoSync foam, Airgocell point-elastic foam, MemoryAdapt memory foam, SupportBase foam and a seven-zone pocket spring core with a comfort foam edge.
Höhe
27 cm
Größen
90x190, 120x190, 135x190, 140x200, 150x200, 160x200, 180x200
Live Emma: Get 20% off with exclusive codes Zum Angebot
9.0/10 Sehr gut
ab £539
Zum Angebot → Anzeige Testbericht lesen
  • Probeliegen: 200 Nächte
  • Garantie: 10 Jahre
  • Härte: Mittelfest
Simba Hybrid Pro Mattress
Simba Hybrid Pro MattressSimba Hybrid Pro MattressSimba Hybrid Pro Mattress
Premium pick

Simba Hybrid Pro Mattress

Couples who want the most springs under them should look at the Simba Hybrid Pro, which Simba lists at up to 4,800 springs in a 28cm mattress. That total combines up to 3,800 titanium-alloy Aerocoil microsprings with up to 1,000 steel pocket springs in the base, so it is not comparable with a traditional count, and a king costs £1,399.

Vorteile
  • Up to 4,800 springs in three layers
  • Steel pocket spring base firms the edges
  • British wool in the comfort layers
  • 200-night trial, 10-year guarantee
Nachteile
  • Highest single price in this ranking
  • Spring total mixes microsprings and pocket springs
  • Foam comfort layers, not a traditional build
Mehr Produktdaten
Material
530g knitted polyester cover with Stratos treatment and zip-off top, British wool, graphite-infused Simbatex foam, two layers of titanium-alloy Aerocoil microsprings (up to 3,800), CertiPUR core foam, a SupportCore base of up to 1,000 steel barrel springs and a CertiPUR foam base.
Höhe
28 cm
Größen
90x190, 120x190, 135x190, 140x200, 150x200, 160x200, 180x200
Zertifikate
CertiPUR
Live Simba: 5-Year Accident Cover for £22 Zum Angebot
8.6/10 Gut
ab £899
Zum Angebot → Anzeige Testbericht lesen
  • Probeliegen: 200 Nächte
  • Garantie: 10 Jahre
  • Härte: Mittelfest
  • Zertifikate CertiPURCertiPUR
Sleepeezee Wool Luxe 2800
Sleepeezee Wool Luxe 2800Sleepeezee Wool Luxe 2800Sleepeezee Wool Luxe 2800
Wool and cashmere

Sleepeezee Wool Luxe 2800

For natural fillings over a dense unit, look at the Sleepeezee Wool Luxe 2800, with wool and cashmere over 2,800 pocket springs, a count Mattress Online says is based on a king, or about 933 per square metre. It is graded medium, double-sided and costs £949 in a double. Sleepeezee gives the depth as 36cm and Mattress Online as 29cm, so check your fitted sheets before you order.

Vorteile
  • 2,800 springs, counted in a king
  • Wool and cashmere comfort layer
  • Handmade in the UK, 10-year guarantee
  • Double-sided with turning handles
Nachteile
  • Exchange trial needs Mattress Online's protector
  • Depth quoted as both 29cm and 36cm
  • Nearly twice the Silentnight 1200's double price
Mehr Produktdaten
Material
Damask cover with deep woollen tufts, British wool and cashmere comfort layer, polycotton comfort layer and high-density support layer on both sides of a two-tier pocket spring unit (2,800 springs in a king) with calibre edge support.
Höhe
36 cm
Hergestellt in
United Kingdom
8.1/10 Gut
ab £699
Zum Angebot → Anzeige Testbericht lesen
  • Probeliegen: 100 Nächte
  • Garantie: 10 Jahre
  • Härte: Mittel
IKEA Vågstranda Pocket Sprung Mattress
IKEA Vågstranda Pocket Sprung MattressIKEA Vågstranda Pocket Sprung MattressIKEA Vågstranda Pocket Sprung Mattress
Densest spring unit

IKEA Vågstranda Pocket Sprung Mattress

IKEA states 498 springs per square metre for the Vågstranda, twice the Valevåg's density, spread over two layers of pocket springs under felt and polyurethane foam in a 28cm build. IKEA sells it in a firm and a medium firm version. A double costs £349, with a 365-night exchange and a 10-year guarantee.

Vorteile
  • 498 springs per m², two spring layers
  • 365-night exchange at IKEA
  • 10-year guarantee
Nachteile
  • Foam over the springs, no wool or fibre
  • No small double, one-sided
Mehr Produktdaten
Material
Two-layer steel pocket spring unit with 7 comfort zones, 498 springs per m² in 90x200 cm, stiff felt, polyurethane foam 33 kg/m³ and polyester wadding. Quilted polyester stretch ticking, sides 100% recycled polyester.
Höhe
28 cm
Live IKEA: Save 20% on cosy essentials in-store only Zum Angebot
8.1/10 Gut
ab £249
Zum Angebot → Anzeige Testbericht lesen
  • Probeliegen: 365 Nächte
  • Garantie: 10 Jahre
  • Härte: Fest
IKEA Valevåg Pocket Sprung Mattress
IKEA Valevåg Pocket Sprung MattressIKEA Valevåg Pocket Sprung MattressIKEA Valevåg Pocket Sprung Mattress
Budget pick

IKEA Valevåg Pocket Sprung Mattress

The IKEA Valevåg is the cheapest way into a pocket sprung mattress on this page, at £149 for a single and £179 for a double at the time of writing (September 2026). Its stated 249 springs per square metre half the Vågstranda's density, sit under polyurethane foam and wadding in a 24cm build. You get the same 365-night exchange and 10-year guarantee as the Vågstranda, but the cover cannot be removed for washing.

Vorteile
  • Lowest price in every size here
  • 365-night exchange, 10-year guarantee
  • All five UK sizes
Nachteile
  • Half the Vågstranda's spring density
  • Cover not removable for washing
  • Foam comfort layers, no natural fillings
Mehr Produktdaten
Material
Pocket spring unit (steel, non-woven polypropylene) with 5 comfort zones, 249 springs per m². Polyurethane foam 33 kg/m³ and polyester wadding on top. Quilted polyester stretch ticking, sides 100% recycled polyester.
Höhe
24 cm
Live IKEA: Save 20% on cosy essentials in-store only Zum Angebot
8.0/10 Gut
ab £149
Zum Angebot → Anzeige Testbericht lesen
  • Probeliegen: 365 Nächte
  • Garantie: 10 Jahre
  • Härte: Mittelfest
Soak&Sleep Wool 2000 Pocket Spring Mattress
Soak&Sleep Wool 2000 Pocket Spring MattressSoak&Sleep Wool 2000 Pocket Spring MattressSoak&Sleep Wool 2000 Pocket Spring Mattress
Turnable British wool

Soak&Sleep Wool 2000 Pocket Spring Mattress

Soak&Sleep builds its Wool 2000 Pocket Spring Mattress with two tiers of springs, 2000 in all, under British wool, side-stitched to 28cm with 16 side air vents. A double costs £725 in the medium/firm or the firm version. Plan ahead, because it is made to order with delivery in four to seven weeks.

Vorteile
  • 2000 pocket springs in two layers
  • British wool comfort layer
  • Side-stitched, turnable, 28cm deep
  • Medium/firm or firm at one price
Nachteile
  • Delivery takes four to seven weeks
  • Needs flipping as well as rotating
  • Trial needs 30 nights and a protector
Mehr Produktdaten
Material
2000 pocket springs in two layers, layer of British wool, viscose damask cover. Tufted, side-stitched, 16 side air vents, turnable. 28cm deep.
Höhe
28 cm
Hergestellt in
United Kingdom
Live Soak&Sleep: Up to 25% OFF with code HIB25 Zum Angebot
7.9/10 Gut
ab £525
Zum Angebot → Anzeige Testbericht lesen
  • Probeliegen: 100 Nächte
  • Garantie: 5 Jahre
  • Härte: Mittelfest
Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1400 Pocket Ortho
Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1400 Pocket OrthoSilentnight Comfort Breathe 1400 Pocket OrthoSilentnight Comfort Breathe 1400 Pocket Ortho
Firm support

Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1400 Pocket Ortho

Anyone who already knows firm suits them should pick the Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1400 Pocket Ortho, with 1400 Mirapocket springs and fibre on both faces so it can be flipped. A king costs £779. If you are buying firm for back pain, note that a 2003 Lancet trial found medium-firm mattresses beat firm ones for pain in bed after 90 days.

Vorteile
  • 1400 Mirapocket springs, firm tension
  • Double-sided, flip and rotate
  • Fibre layers on both faces
  • All five UK sizes
Nachteile
  • Firm, not the medium-firm that trials favour
  • Too firm for many side sleepers
  • 60-night exchange, not a refund
Mehr Produktdaten
Material
1400 Mirapocket pocket springs, Comfort Breathe fibre layers on both sides, hand-tufted fillings and a hypoallergenic tufted sleep surface on each face.
Höhe
28 cm
Hergestellt in
United Kingdom
Live Silentnight: 25% off dual climate mattress Zum Angebot
7.9/10 Gut
ab £499
Zum Angebot → Anzeige Testbericht lesen
  • Probeliegen: 60 Nächte
  • Garantie: 5 Jahre
  • Härte: Fest
Harrison Spinks Silver 6500
Harrison Spinks Silver 6500Harrison Spinks Silver 6500Harrison Spinks Silver 6500
Natural and turn-free

Harrison Spinks Silver 6500

Harrison Spinks makes its own springs, and its Silver 6500 is the pick for natural fillings without the chore of flipping. The 6,500 springs combine Cortec pocket springs with two layers of micro springs under British wool, hemp and flax, and a double costs £1,179. It is made to order in four to seven weeks and comes with no maker's trial.

Vorteile
  • 6,500 springs including micro springs
  • British wool, hemp and flax fillings
  • Turn-free, rotate only
  • Cover woven without FR chemical treatment
Nachteile
  • No maker's sleep trial
  • Made to order, 4 to 7 weeks
  • A double weighs 52kg
Mehr Produktdaten
Material
Cortec Quad Revolution pocket springs, Posturfil pocket springs, HD 2,000 and HD 2,500 micro springs (6,500 springs in total). British wool and viscose blend, British wool, hemp and flax blend, cotton, hemp and flax blend, Sustainable Ecotex. FR chemical treatment-free woven cover, two rows of side stitching.
Größen
75x190, 90x190, 120x190, 135x190, 150x200, 180x200
Hergestellt in
United Kingdom
7.8/10 Gut
ab £849
Zum Angebot → Anzeige Testbericht lesen
  • Garantie: 5 Jahre
  • Härte: Mittel
Dorma Natural 2000 Pocket Sprung Wool Mattress
Dorma Natural 2000 Pocket Sprung Wool MattressDorma Natural 2000 Pocket Sprung Wool MattressDorma Natural 2000 Pocket Sprung Wool Mattress
Longest guarantee

Dorma Natural 2000 Pocket Sprung Wool Mattress

Dunelm backs the Dorma Natural 2000 with a 20-year guarantee, the longest in this ranking, on a hand-tufted two-sided mattress with 2,000 pocket springs and British wool on both faces. A king costs £609. There is no sleep trial and it needs turning every two weeks for the first three months, so it suits buyers who already know the tension they want.

Vorteile
  • 2,000 pocket springs, hand-tufted
  • British wool on both sides
  • 20-year Dunelm guarantee
  • Soft, medium or firm tension
Nachteile
  • No sleep trial
  • Turn every two weeks at first
  • Soft tension out of stock at our check
Mehr Produktdaten
Material
100% viscose cover, British wool and bonded cotton comfort layers on both sides, 2,000 pocket springs, hand-tufted, integrated side handles.
Höhe
27 cm
Live Dorma: 10% off first app order over £20 with code 10OFF Zum Angebot
7.7/10 Gut
ab £409
Zum Angebot → Anzeige Testbericht lesen
  • Garantie: 20 Jahre
  • Härte: Mittel

Kaufberatung

Worauf Sie beim Kauf achten sollten

„Judge a pocket sprung mattress by its fillings and its firmness before its spring count, because a count means little until you know the size it was counted in, and the layers on top decide how it feels.“

What a pocket sprung mattress is

A pocket sprung mattress has every coil sewn into its own fabric pocket, so each spring compresses on its own. In an open coil (Bonnell) unit, as the National Bed Federation’s buying guide explains, rows of springs are joined top and bottom by a spiral helical wire. The NBF, the trade body for UK bed makers, notes that “the majority of mattresses in the UK have spring interiors” and describes the pocket version like this:

“Pocket springs are small, softer springs that work independently from each other. The springs conform and adjust to body contours and help to eliminate roll-together.”

Better units sit in calico pockets and are hand-nested, the NBF adds. Six of the ten ranked mattresses are traditional builds with fibre, wool or plant fibres over the springs. The two IKEA models put foam and wadding over theirs, and the Emma and Simba are hybrids with deeper foam layers. Mattresses without springs are in our memory foam ranking and foam mattress ranking.

Spring count, and what the number really tells you

A spring count only means something against the size it was counted in, because the same unit gives a bigger number in a king than in a single. IKEA is the only maker here that publishes a density, in springs per square metre, and the table converts it into each UK size.

UK size Area (m²) IKEA Valevåg, 249 per m² IKEA Vågstranda, 498 per m²
Single, 90x190 1.71 426 852
Small double, 120x190 2.28 568 Not sold
Double, 135x190 2.57 639 1,277
King, 150x200 3.00 747 1,494
Super king, 180x200 3.60 896 1,793

The IKEA columns are our calculation from IKEA’s stated density, and the Vågstranda’s two spring layers give it twice the Valevåg’s density. Mattress Online says the 2,800 in the Sleepeezee Wool Luxe 2800 is counted in a king, about 933 per square metre. The other makers print one number with no size, so the 1200 in the Silentnight cannot be turned into a density, and Silentnight’s own page gives 1000 in one spec block. Totals such as the 6,500 in the Harrison Spinks Silver or the 4,800 in the Simba Hybrid Pro include small micro springs and do not compare with a single-layer count.

Fillings, and what sits over the springs

The layers over the springs shape the feel more than the count does. Wool, cashmere, cotton and fibre keep the build open and springy, while the foam on the IKEA pair and the Emma moves the feel toward a foam mattress. For a mattress that holds its shape, look for the tufting and hand side-stitching that the NBF links to durability and shape retention.

Mattress Build Springs stated Over the springs Depth Firmness Turning
Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1200 Pocket Traditional 1200, size not stated Comfort Breathe fibre 25cm Medium to medium/firm Not stated
Emma Original Pro Hybrid Not published, 7 zones Four foam layers incl. memory foam 27cm Emma 3 of 5, firmer in our test One-sided
Simba Hybrid Pro Hybrid Up to 4,800 incl. microsprings British wool, Simbatex foam, microsprings 28cm Medium-firm Not stated
Sleepeezee Wool Luxe 2800 Traditional 2,800 in a king Wool and cashmere, polycotton 29cm (retailer), 36cm (maker) Medium Flip seasonally
IKEA Vågstranda Foam-topped, two spring layers 498 per m² Felt, polyurethane foam, wadding 28cm Firm or medium firm One-sided
IKEA Valevåg Foam-topped 249 per m² Polyurethane foam, wadding 24cm Medium firm or firm No flipping
Soak&Sleep Wool 2000 Traditional, two spring layers 2000 British wool 28cm Medium/firm or firm Flip and rotate
Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1400 Pocket Ortho Traditional 1400, size not stated Fibre on both faces 28cm Firm Flip and rotate
Harrison Spinks Silver 6500 Traditional, micro springs 6,500 incl. micro springs Wool, hemp, flax, cotton Not published Soft, medium or firm Rotate only
Dorma Natural 2000 Traditional 2,000 British wool, cotton, both faces 27cm Soft, medium or firm Flip and rotate

Medium-firm or firm

Medium-firm is the better default, even for back pain. In a randomised controlled trial of 313 adults with chronic low-back pain published in The Lancet in 2003 (Kovacs et al.), people given a medium-firm mattress had better outcomes after 90 days than those on a firm one, with odds ratios of 2.36 for pain in bed and 2.10 for disability. A 2015 systematic review of 24 trials in Sleep Health (Radwan et al.) rated medium-firm and self-adjusted mattresses best for sleep comfort, quality and spinal alignment. The Dorma and Harrison Spinks models come in a choice of tensions. For a firm feel, the Silentnight 1400 Pocket Ortho is the pick here.

Turning, trial and guarantee

The National Bed Federation puts the wear on a mattress at 20,000 hours over seven years. The Sleepeezee, Soak&Sleep, Silentnight 1400 Ortho and Dorma are two-sided and need flipping as well as rotating. The Harrison Spinks Silver 6500 is turn-free and only needs rotating. Traditional builds are heavy, a Silver 6500 double weighs 52kg according to Now to Bed, so turning a two-sided king takes two people.

Soak&Sleep’s 100 nights start after a 30-night minimum, and Mattress Online’s 100-night exchange on the Sleepeezee needs its protector. Silentnight’s 60-night comfort exchange excludes mattresses used for less than 28 nights, and the Dorma and Harrison Spinks models come with no trial. Rolled pocket sprung hybrids with money-back trials are in our mattress in a box ranking.

Mattress Single 90x190 Double 135x190 King 150x200 Home trial Guarantee
Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1200 Pocket £379 £499 £599 60-night exchange 5 years
Emma Original Pro £539 £799 £919 200 nights, full refund 10 years
Simba Hybrid Pro £899 £1,299 £1,399 200 nights, refund 10 years
Sleepeezee Wool Luxe 2800 £699 £949 £1,049 100-night exchange (Mattress Online) 10 years
IKEA Vågstranda £249 £349 £449 365-night exchange 10 years
IKEA Valevåg £149 £179 £229 365-night exchange 10 years
Soak&Sleep Wool 2000 £525 £725 £825 100 nights, 30 minimum 5 years
Silentnight 1400 Pocket Ortho £499 £649 £779 60-night exchange 5 years
Harrison Spinks Silver 6500 £849 £1,179 No regular price listed None from the maker 5 years
Dorma Natural 2000 £409 £509 £609 None 20 years

Regular prices, checked 28 September 2026.

Methodik

So bewerten wir

This ranking covers pocket sprung mattresses sold in the UK in the standard sizes, from a single to a super king. Every mattress on it has individually pocketed springs as its support unit and was listed in stock in UK sizes when we checked prices on 28 September 2026; every other construction is ranked in our best mattresses of 2026.

The build decides the top of the page. Most people searching for a pocket sprung mattress want springs under fibre or wool rather than a foam hybrid, and hybrids have their own hybrid mattress ranking, so the lead goes to a traditional build. The traditional models with fibre or wool fillings score within a point of each other here (80 and 81), so price settles first place in favour of the Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1200 Pocket, at £599 in a king against £1,049 for the Sleepeezee Wool Luxe 2800. The Emma Original Pro and Simba Hybrid Pro follow as the best-scoring hybrids, and from fourth place down the order follows our overall score.

Within the score we look at the spring unit (the stated count, the size it was counted in, and whether it includes micro springs), the fillings, the firmness against the medium-firm band that trials favour, and the trial and guarantee against the price. The overall score weights comfort 30%, support 25%, temperature 15% and value 30%, with a small adjustment for established brands. We tested the Emma Original Pro at home with our own photos. For the other nine we use each maker’s or retailer’s UK product page, published spring counts and our own price checks.

Schneller Überblick

Alle Produkte im Vergleich

Alle Mattresses
# Produkt Empfohlen für Material Härte Probeliegen Garantie Bewertung Preis
1 Silentnight Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1200 Pocket No memory foam 1200 Mirapocket pocket springs, a Comfort Breathe fibre comfort layer, a protective layer over the springs, a mesh border for airflow and a hypoallergenic sleep surface. Mittelfest 60 N. 5 J. 8.0 ab £379 Angebot
2 Emma Emma Original Pro For hot sleepers Removable 100% polyester premium cover (40°C wash), graphite-infused ThermoSync foam, Airgocell point-elastic foam, MemoryAdapt memory foam, SupportBase foam and a seven-zone pocket spring core with a comfort foam edge. Mittelfest 200 N. 10 J. 9.0 ab £539 Angebot
3 Simba Simba Hybrid Pro Mattress For couples 530g knitted polyester cover with Stratos treatment and zip-off top, British wool, graphite-infused Simbatex foam, two layers of titanium-alloy Aerocoil microsprings (up to 3,800), CertiPUR core foam, a SupportCore base of up to 1,000 steel barrel springs and a CertiPUR foam base. Mittelfest 200 N. 10 J. 8.6 ab £899 Angebot
4 Sleepeezee Sleepeezee Wool Luxe 2800 Wool and cashmere Damask cover with deep woollen tufts, British wool and cashmere comfort layer, polycotton comfort layer and high-density support layer on both sides of a two-tier pocket spring unit (2,800 springs in a king) with calibre edge support. Mittel 100 N. 10 J. 8.1 ab £699 Angebot
5 IKEA IKEA Vågstranda Pocket Sprung Mattress Densest spring unit Two-layer steel pocket spring unit with 7 comfort zones, 498 springs per m² in 90x200 cm, stiff felt, polyurethane foam 33 kg/m³ and polyester wadding. Quilted polyester stretch ticking, sides 100% recycled polyester. Fest 365 N. 10 J. 8.1 ab £249 Angebot
6 IKEA IKEA Valevåg Pocket Sprung Mattress Lowest price Pocket spring unit (steel, non-woven polypropylene) with 5 comfort zones, 249 springs per m². Polyurethane foam 33 kg/m³ and polyester wadding on top. Quilted polyester stretch ticking, sides 100% recycled polyester. Mittelfest 365 N. 10 J. 8.0 ab £149 Angebot
7 Soak&Sleep Soak&Sleep Wool 2000 Pocket Spring Mattress Turnable British wool 2000 pocket springs in two layers, layer of British wool, viscose damask cover. Tufted, side-stitched, 16 side air vents, turnable. 28cm deep. Mittelfest 100 N. 5 J. 7.9 ab £525 Angebot
8 Silentnight Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1400 Pocket Ortho Firm support 1400 Mirapocket pocket springs, Comfort Breathe fibre layers on both sides, hand-tufted fillings and a hypoallergenic tufted sleep surface on each face. Fest 60 N. 5 J. 7.9 ab £499 Angebot
9 Harrison Spinks Harrison Spinks Silver 6500 Natural and turn-free Cortec Quad Revolution pocket springs, Posturfil pocket springs, HD 2,000 and HD 2,500 micro springs (6,500 springs in total). British wool and viscose blend, British wool, hemp and flax blend, cotton, hemp and flax blend, Sustainable Ecotex. FR chemical treatment-free woven cover, two rows of side stitching. Mittel – 5 J. 7.8 ab £849 Angebot
10 Dorma Dorma Natural 2000 Pocket Sprung Wool Mattress Longest guarantee 100% viscose cover, British wool and bonded cotton comfort layers on both sides, 2,000 pocket springs, hand-tufted, integrated side handles. Mittel – 20 J. 7.7 ab £409 Angebot

Automatisch geprüft

Rabatte & Angebote

Alle Angebote
Marke Aktuelle Aktion Rabattcode Vorteil
Silentnight 25% off dual climate mattress – – Zum Angebot
Emma 30% off for students, NHS staff, teachers, military personnel and people with disabilities in the UK, after a short ID check on Emma's discounts page – 30% Rabatt Zum Angebot
Simba 5-Year Accident Cover for £22 – – Zum Angebot
IKEA Save 20% on cosy essentials in-store only – – Zum Angebot
Soak&Sleep Up to 25% OFF with code HIB25 – – Zum Angebot
Dorma 10% off first app order over £20 with code 10OFF – – Zum Angebot

FAQ

Häufige Fragen

What is a pocket sprung mattress?

A pocket sprung mattress has each spring sewn into its own fabric pocket, so the springs move independently, unlike an open coil unit where rows of springs are linked by wire. The National Bed Federation says pocket springs "conform and adjust to body contours and help to eliminate roll-together", which is why couples favour them. The Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1200 Pocket, with 1200 Mirapocket springs under fibre, is a typical traditional example.

How many springs should a pocket sprung mattress have?

There is no single right number, because a spring count only means something against the size it was counted in and whether it includes micro springs. Mattress Online says the 2,800 in the Sleepeezee Wool Luxe 2800 is counted in a king, about 933 per square metre, and IKEA states 249 per square metre for the Valevåg and 498 for the Vågstranda. Totals such as the 6,500 in the Harrison Spinks Silver include small micro springs and do not compare with a single-layer count.

Is a pocket sprung mattress better than memory foam?

A pocket sprung mattress is the better choice if you sleep hot or share the bed, while memory foam suits people who want to sink in. Traditional builds such as the Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1200 Pocket keep the feel open with fibre or wool over the springs, and its mesh border lets air out at the sides. The Emma Original Pro and the Simba Hybrid Pro combine the two, with foam over a pocket spring core, while our latex mattress ranking covers latex over springs.

Is a firm pocket sprung mattress better for a bad back?

Usually not, since a 2003 trial of 313 adults with chronic low-back pain in The Lancet found medium-firm mattresses gave better results than firm ones for pain in bed and disability after 90 days. If you prefer a firm feel, the Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1400 Pocket Ortho is the firm pick here at £649 in a double.

What is the best king size pocket sprung mattress?

The Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1200 Pocket is our choice in king size (150x200), at £599 with 1200 Mirapocket springs and fibre fillings. Couples with a bigger budget should consider the Simba Hybrid Pro at £1,399.

What is the best single pocket sprung mattress?

For a single (90x190), the Silentnight Comfort Breathe 1200 Pocket at £379 is our overall pick and the IKEA Valevåg at £149 is the cheapest pocket sprung option in this ranking. IKEA's stated density works out at about 426 springs in a Valevåg single, and our single mattress ranking covers other builds.

Do pocket sprung mattresses need turning?

Two-sided pocket sprung mattresses need flipping and rotating, while one-sided and turn-free models only need rotating head to toe. The Dorma Natural 2000, for example, should be turned every two weeks for its first three months, whereas the Harrison Spinks Silver 6500 is designed never to be flipped and the IKEA Vågstranda has upholstery on its top face only.

How long does a pocket sprung mattress last?

Plan on seven to 10 years, the age at which the National Bed Federation suggests asking whether you need a new mattress, and the NBF puts the wear over seven years at 20,000 hours. Guarantees on this page run from five years on the Silentnight, Soak&Sleep and Harrison Spinks models to 20 years on the Dorma Natural 2000.

Weitere Vergleiche

Mattresses im Vergleich

Alle Mattresses-Vergleiche

10 Produkte verglichen Ranking · Aktualisiert 28.09.2026

Best mattresses 2026

The best mattress for most UK sleepers is a medium-firm model that keeps your spine aligned in your usual sleeping position, stays cool through the night …

9 Produkte verglichen Ranking · Aktualisiert 28.09.2026

Best Simba mattresses

Choosing the best Simba mattress comes down to three differences inside one UK range: how deep and how heavily sprung the model is, whether its comfort …

10 Produkte verglichen Ranking · Aktualisiert 28.09.2026

Best foam mattresses

The best foam mattress is an all-foam build that stays cool enough for you, sits close to medium-firm and comes with a trial long enough to …

8 Produkte verglichen Ranking · Aktualisiert 28.09.2026

Best Silentnight mattresses

The best Silentnight mattress is the model whose support system and comfort layer suit the way you sleep, because the brand builds its range in distinct …

10 Produkte verglichen Ranking · Aktualisiert 28.09.2026

Best air mattresses

The best air mattress for a spare room is a raised bed with a built-in mains pump, while a camping air bed needs a pump that …

6 Produkte verglichen Ranking · Aktualisiert 28.09.2026

Best Emma mattresses

Choosing an Emma mattress in the UK comes down to pocket springs or all-foam, a feel between medium-soft and medium-firm, and how much comfort depth you …