Comparison

Best Sealy mattresses

The right Sealy mattress depends on three things a model name rarely tells you, namely which spring unit sits inside, how firm the comfort layers are and which retailer's trial and guarantee come with it. Sealy UK does not sell from its own website and several chains carry their own exclusive Sealy names, so this comparison lines up each Sealy Posturepedic and Ortho Plus mattress by construction, depth, feel, guarantee and double-size price, which lets you compare like for like across Bensons, Mattress Online, Mattressman and independent bed stores.

8Products compared
up to 100trial nights
28/09/2026Updated
Paata Updated 28 September 2026
Best Sealy mattresses: Posturepedic and Ortho Plus compared

Ranking

Best Sealy mattresses: top pick in detail

Sealy Posturepedic Elevate Blackwood Mattress
Sealy Posturepedic Elevate Blackwood MattressSealy Posturepedic Elevate Blackwood MattressSealy Posturepedic Elevate Blackwood Mattress
Best overall

Sealy Posturepedic Elevate Blackwood Mattress

The Sealy Posturepedic Elevate Blackwood is the Sealy we would buy first, a 28cm single-sided mattress with twice-tempered AlignSupport coils and a firmer foam ComfortCore under the lower back. A double costs £965 at Mattress Online, with a 7-year guarantee and a 100-night comfort exchange if you buy its protector. It is sold as Firm, which suits back and front sleepers who want the lower back held level.

Pros
  • Firm ComfortCore zone under the lower back
  • 100-night exchange at Mattress Online
  • Twice-tempered AlignSupport coils
  • Elevate collection approved by Allergy UK
Cons
  • Trial needs a Mattress Online protector
  • Lighter side sleepers may want a softer top
  • 31kg in a double, delivered flat
More product details
Material
AlignSupport twice-tempered coil spring unit with UniCased edge support and BasePlank, a firm and extra-firm foam ComfortCore in the lumbar area, reflex foam comfort layer. Knitted cover with ProShield.
Height
28 cm
Made in
United Kingdom
Certificates
Allergy UK Seal of Approval
7.8/10 Good
from £723 £779
View offer → Ad Read the review
Sealy Mellbreak Ortho Plus Mattress
Sealy Mellbreak Ortho Plus MattressSealy Mellbreak Ortho Plus MattressSealy Mellbreak Ortho Plus Mattress
Best value

Sealy Mellbreak Ortho Plus Mattress

The Sealy Mellbreak Ortho Plus is the cheapest Sealy in this comparison, a firm 28cm double-sided spring mattress at £449 in a double from Mattress Online at its regular price. Mattress Online calls it the firmest model in the Ortho Plus line, with PostureTech Core Support springs, a central PowerPack under the lower back and tufting on both faces. It comes with a 100-night comfort exchange if you buy Mattress Online's protector, and 1,460 buyers rate it 4.6 out of 5.

Pros
  • Lowest double price in this comparison
  • Graded Extra Firm by Mattressman
  • 100-night exchange at Mattress Online
  • 4.6 out of 5 from 1,460 reviews
Cons
  • Too firm for most side sleepers
  • Turn weekly for the first three months
  • 5-year Sealy Classics guarantee
More product details
Material
PostureTech Core Support spring unit with an EdgeGuard encapsulated border and a central PowerPack filling for lumbar support. Soft white fibre comfort fillings under a damask cover, tufted on both sides, with four turning handles.
Height
28 cm
Made in
United Kingdom
7.7/10 Good
from £308 £339
View offer → Ad Read the review
  • Sleep trial: 100 nights
  • Warranty: 5 years
  • Firmness: Firm
Sealy Steeple Ortho Plus PostureTech Mattress
Sealy Steeple Ortho Plus PostureTech MattressSealy Steeple Ortho Plus PostureTech MattressSealy Steeple Ortho Plus PostureTech Mattress
Orthopaedic pick

Sealy Steeple Ortho Plus PostureTech Mattress

The Sealy Steeple Ortho Plus is the Mellbreak's closest rival, a 29cm double-sided PostureTech mattress with a central Powerpack that costs £549 in a double at Mattressman. Mattressman grades it Firmer, one step below the Extra Firm it gives the Mellbreak, and its 188 buyers rate it 4.7 out of 5. The trial is shorter than the Mellbreak's, 60 nights with a £50 exchange fee, and Sealy no longer lists the model.

Pros
  • Graded Firmer, a notch below Extra Firm
  • Central Powerpack for lumbar support
  • Double-sided, turn and rotate
  • 4.7 out of 5 from 188 Mattressman reviews
Cons
  • 5-year guarantee, not 7
  • No longer listed on sealy.co.uk
  • £50 fee and a protector for the exchange
More product details
Material
PostureTech open-coil spring unit with a central Powerpack for lumbar support and an Edge Guard high-density foam border. Soft quilted cover, hand tufted and double sided.
Height
29 cm
Made in
United Kingdom
7.7/10 Good
from £459
View offer → Ad Read the review
  • Sleep trial: 60 nights
  • Warranty: 5 years
  • Firmness: Firm
Sealy Elevate Ultra Hawking Medium
Sealy Elevate Ultra Hawking MediumSealy Elevate Ultra Hawking MediumSealy Elevate Ultra Hawking Medium
Medium feel

Sealy Elevate Ultra Hawking Medium

Couples who split between back and side sleeping will find the Elevate Ultra Hawking Medium the most even-handed Sealy here, with a MemorySense ComfortCore under the hips and a Geltex layer over AlignSupport coils in a 30cm build. The Sleep Shop lists a double at £2,025 and was taking 25% off in its sale in September 2026. The Elevate Ultra collection is on Allergy UK's approved list, though The Sleep Shop shows no trial for this model.

Pros
  • Medium feel for mixed sleeping positions
  • MemorySense ComfortCore under the hips
  • Geltex layer over AlignSupport coils
  • Elevate Ultra range approved by Allergy UK
Cons
  • No trial shown at The Sleep Shop
  • Dearer than the Blackwood in every size
  • Sealy lists 30cm, The Sleep Shop 34cm
More product details
Material
AlignSupport coil spring unit with UniCased XT edge support and BasePlank, MemorySense ComfortCore in the centre third, Geltex gel-infused layer, Sealy medium foam, quilted eurotop. Cover with SmarTex and ProShield.
Height
30 cm
Made in
United Kingdom
Certificates
Allergy UK Seal of Approval
7.7/10 Good
from £1,266.75 £1,689
View offer → Ad Read the review
Sealy Newton Posturepedic Mattress
Sealy Newton Posturepedic MattressSealy Newton Posturepedic MattressSealy Newton Posturepedic Mattress
Longest guarantee

Sealy Newton Posturepedic Mattress

Bensons for Beds sells the Sealy Newton Posturepedic as an exclusive, with a latex ComfortCore in the centre third over AlignSupport coils and two layers of extra-firm foam in a 27cm build. It is the only Sealy here with a 10-year guarantee and a choice of Medium or Firm at one price, £1,499.99 in a double. Ideal Home scored the firm version 4.5 out of 5, but a Newton double costs several hundred pounds more than a Blackwood.

Pros
  • Latex ComfortCore under hips and lower back
  • 10-year Bensons guarantee
  • Medium or Firm at the same price
  • Scored 4.5 out of 5 by Ideal Home
Cons
  • Several hundred pounds dearer than a Blackwood
  • Only sold by Bensons for Beds
  • 40-night exchange with charges
More product details
Material
AlignSupport twice-tempered coil spring unit with UniCased edge support and BasePlank, latex ComfortCore in the centre third, double layer of Sealy extra-firm foam. Quilted stretch-knit cover with SmarTex and ProShield.
Height
27 cm
Made in
United Kingdom
7.6/10 Good
from £1,299.99
View offer → Ad Read the review
  • Sleep trial: 40 nights
  • Warranty: 10 years
  • Firmness: Firm
Sealy Ortho Plus Grasmoor
Sealy Ortho Plus GrasmoorSealy Ortho Plus GrasmoorSealy Ortho Plus Grasmoor
Current Ortho Plus flagship

Sealy Ortho Plus Grasmoor

The Sealy Ortho Plus Grasmoor heads Sealy's current Ortho Plus collection and costs £499 in a double at Trio Furnishings, which delivers across mainland England and Wales. It shares the Steeple's recipe of twice-tempered PostureTech CoreSupport springs, a central Powerpack and hand tufting on both sides in a 29cm build. Neither stockist we found publishes a sleep trial, which keeps it behind the Mellbreak and Steeple although it scores almost the same.

Pros
  • Top of Sealy's current Ortho Plus range
  • Twice-tempered PostureTech springs with Powerpack
  • Double-sided, hand tufted on both faces
  • Still listed on sealy.co.uk
Cons
  • No published retailer trial
  • Double costs more than the Mellbreak's
  • Shorter 5-year guarantee
More product details
Material
PostureTech CoreSupport twice-tempered spring unit with an EdgeGuard border and a central Powerpack for lower-back support. Double sided, hand tufted on both faces.
Height
29 cm
Made in
United Kingdom
7.6/10 Good
from £459
View offer → Ad Read the review
  • Warranty: 5 years
  • Firmness: Firm
Sealy Elevate Ultra Turing Plush
Sealy Elevate Ultra Turing PlushSealy Elevate Ultra Turing PlushSealy Elevate Ultra Turing Plush
For side sleepers

Sealy Elevate Ultra Turing Plush

Side sleepers and lighter adults should start with the Elevate Ultra Turing Plush, the softest model in this comparison and the mattress that won the National Bed Federation's Bed Product of the Year in 2022. Its 34cm build puts MemorySense and Geltex layers and a deep layer of medium foam over AlignSupport coils with a UniCased XT edge. A double lists at £2,319 at The Sleep Shop, the highest published double price here, and heavier front sleepers will sink too far into it.

Pros
  • NBF Bed Product of the Year 2022
  • Softest feel in this comparison
  • MemorySense and Geltex over AlignSupport
  • UniCased XT edge with air channels
Cons
  • Too soft for heavier front sleepers
  • 34cm depth needs deep fitted sheets
  • Highest published double price here
More product details
Material
AlignSupport coil spring unit with UniCased XT edge support and BasePlank, MemorySense ComfortCore in the centre third, Geltex gel-infused layer, deep layer of Sealy medium foam, quilted top. Cover with SmarTex and ProShield.
Height
34 cm
Made in
United Kingdom
Certificates
Allergy UK Seal of Approval
7.6/10 Good
from £1,451.25 £1,935
View offer → Ad Read the review
Sealy Elevate Blake Medium
Sealy Elevate Blake MediumSealy Elevate Blake MediumSealy Elevate Blake Medium
Quilted top

Sealy Elevate Blake Medium

The Sealy Elevate Blake Medium is the cheaper route to a medium Posturepedic, with a quilted top layer and a ComfortCore zone in the centre third over AlignSupport coils in a 31cm build. The Sleep Shop lists a double at £1,645, below the Hawking Medium, and was taking 25% off in its September 2026 sale. It ranks last on a lower value score, because the double still costs several hundred pounds more than a Blackwood and The Sleep Shop shows no trial.

Pros
  • Medium feel under a quilted top
  • ComfortCore zone under hips and lower back
  • Elevate range approved by Allergy UK
  • 7-year Posturepedic guarantee
Cons
  • No trial shown at The Sleep Shop
  • Several hundred pounds dearer than a Blackwood
  • 31cm depth needs deep fitted sheets
More product details
Material
AlignSupport coil unit, twice tempered, with UniCased edge support and a BasePlank. Sealy Foam with a centre-third ComfortCore zone, Sealy Medium and Firm Foams, quilted Euro top. Cover with SmarTex moisture management and ProShield anti-allergen treatment.
Height
31 cm
Made in
United Kingdom
Certificates
Allergy UK Seal of Approval
7.5/10 Good
from £1,026.75 £1,369
View offer → Ad Read the review

Buying advice

What to look for when buying

“Choose a Sealy by its spring unit and its feel first, and only then by the shop, because the same Posturepedic technology can cost hundreds of pounds more under one retailer's model name than under another's. Sealy runs no sleep trial of its own, so the trial you get is always the retailer's.”

How the Sealy range is organised

Sealy Posturepedic is the top of three families, with 16 of the 31 mattresses on sealy.co.uk across the Exquisite, Elevate UltraLux, Elevate Ultra and Elevate collections. Below it sit nine Sealy Select models and six Sealy Classics, which include the double-sided Ortho Plus line. Every Sealy UK mattress is handmade in Cumbria, according to Sealy’s history page. Since October 2020 the brand has belonged to Sealy United Kingdom Limited, a 50/50 joint venture between Tempur Sealy International, the maker of TEMPUR, and its Asian partners, which took the UK licence back from Silentnight after 47 years, according to Tempur Sealy’s announcement.

The same technology under different names

Sealy does not sell from its own website, and the big retailers commission their own model names. Mattress Online sells Posturepedic models called Blackwood, Holst and Webber, the Newton is made for Bensons for Beds, and Mattressman still sells the Steeple Ortho Plus. Neither the Steeple nor the Mellbreak Ortho Plus, which Mattress Online, Mattressman and The Sleep Shop sell, appears on Sealy’s Ortho Plus page, which lists the Grasmoor, Scafell and Baystone. Compare a Sealy by collection, spring unit and feel rather than by name, and read little into the RRP. Mattress Online’s product data gives the Blackwood single an RRP of £1,299 and a selling price of £723.

Model Collection Spring unit Comfort layer Feel Depth (cm) Sides Guarantee (years) Retailer trial Double price (135x190) Our score
Elevate Blackwood Posturepedic Elevate AlignSupport Firm foam ComfortCore, reflex foam Firm 28 Single-sided 7 100 nights, exchange £965 7.8
Mellbreak Ortho Plus Sealy Classics Ortho Plus PostureTech Core Support with PowerPack Soft white fibres, tufted Firm (Extra Firm at Mattressman) 28 Double-sided 5 100 nights, exchange £449 7.7
Steeple Ortho Plus Sealy Classics Ortho Plus PostureTech with Powerpack Hand-tufted fillings Firmer 29 Double-sided 5 60 nights, exchange, £50 fee £549 7.7
Hawking Medium Posturepedic Elevate Ultra AlignSupport MemorySense ComfortCore, Geltex Medium 30 Not stated 7 None shown £2,025 7.7
Newton Posturepedic, Bensons only AlignSupport Latex ComfortCore, extra-firm foam Medium or firm 27 Single-sided 10 (Bensons) 40 nights, exchange with charges £1,499.99 7.6
Grasmoor Ortho Plus Sealy Classics Ortho Plus PostureTech CoreSupport with Powerpack Hand-tufted fillings Firm 29 Double-sided 5 None published £499 7.6
Turing Plush Posturepedic Elevate Ultra AlignSupport, UniCased XT edge MemorySense ComfortCore, Geltex Plush 34 Not stated 7 None shown £2,319 7.6
Blake Medium Posturepedic Elevate AlignSupport ComfortCore foam, quilted top Medium 31 Not stated 7 None shown £1,645 7.5

Double prices are regular prices checked on 28 September 2026. Mattress Online then took about 17% off the Blackwood double and 7% off the Mellbreak, The Sleep Shop 25% off the Hawking, Turing and Blake.

Guarantee and trial depend on where you buy

Sealy’s guarantee terms give 7 years on Sealy Posturepedic and 5 years on Sealy Classics, the family Ortho Plus belongs to, and every claim starts with the retailer. You may have extra rights against the shop under the Consumer Rights Act 2015. Every trial here is the retailer’s, and an exchange, never a refund. Mattress Online gives 100 nights with one of its protectors, Mattressman 60 nights with a protector and a £50 fee, and Bensons a 40-night comfort exchange with charges. The Sleep Shop shows no trial on the Hawking, Turing or Blake.

Firmness, back pain and the orthopaedic claim

Sealy develops its Posturepedic springs with an International Orthopaedic Advisory Board of surgeons, engineers and medical scientists, and four of the eight models here are sold only as firm. Firmer is not automatically better for a bad back. In a randomised, double-blind trial of 313 adults with chronic low back pain published in The Lancet (Kovacs et al., 2003), people given medium-firm mattresses (5.6 on a scale from 1.0 for the firmest to 10.0 for the softest) had less pain and disability after 90 days than those on firm ones (2.3). The authors concluded that “A mattress of medium firmness improves pain and disability among patients with chronic non-specific low-back pain.”

A firmness label is not a measurement either, and retailers grade on their own scales, so Mattressman calls the Mellbreak Extra Firm and the Steeple Firmer. The tufted Mellbreak, Steeple and Grasmoor suit back and front sleepers who know they like a hard surface, and our firm and orthopaedic rankings include the Grasmoor.

Depth, weight and delivery

Sealy’s guarantee terms say its mattresses “should not be rolled or bent”, so they arrive flat, and allow a size tolerance of plus or minus 2cm. Weight decides how easy the regular head-to-toe rotation is, and Mattress Online gives 31kg for a double Blackwood, 42kg for a super king. Ideal Home’s reviewer reported that the delivery team could not get a Newton up her awkward staircase without bending it, which they were not insured to do. The terms also ask for slats 10cm wide with gaps of no more than 7.5cm, so an old frame can void the guarantee.

Price against typical spending, and allergy approval

In a National Bed Federation survey of 500 recent bed buyers in November 2021, 46% had spent up to £399 and three quarters less than £800. Of the eight doubles here, only the three Ortho Plus models came in under £800 in September 2026. Allergy UK gives its Seal of Approval to the Posturepedic Elevate and Elevate Ultra collections, whose ticking uses Sealy’s ProShield fibre. The Ortho Collection on that list is a Bensons for Beds range, not the Ortho Plus line, and the Newton is not named.

Which Sealy for which sleeper

If you Start with Deciding spec
Sleep on your back and want a firm Posturepedic Elevate Blackwood Firm ComfortCore zone under the lower back, 100-night exchange
Want the firmest Sealy here for the least money Mellbreak Ortho Plus Lowest double price here, 100-night exchange at Mattress Online
Want a firm, double-sided Sealy a notch below extra firm Steeple Ortho Plus Graded Firmer at Mattressman, 60-night exchange
Want Sealy’s current Ortho Plus flagship Grasmoor Ortho Plus Still listed on sealy.co.uk, sold by independent stockists
Want latex and the longest guarantee Newton Latex ComfortCore, 10-year Bensons guarantee
Have a bad back and prefer medium support Hawking Medium Medium feel with a MemorySense zone under the hips
Want a medium Posturepedic for less Blake Medium Quilted top, double below the Hawking’s price
Sleep on your side or weigh less Turing Plush Softest model here, 34cm deep, NBF Bed Product of the Year 2022
Have a dust mite allergy Blackwood, Blake or Hawking Medium Collections on Allergy UK’s approved list

The best mattresses of 2026 ranks the wider market, alongside Silentnight, Hypnos and TEMPUR. The three chains tie their trials to a protector, so see our best mattress protectors first.

Methodology

How we rate

This ranking compares eight Sealy mattresses on sale in the UK on 28 September 2026, drawn from the Posturepedic Elevate and Elevate Ultra collections, the Bensons-only Newton and the Ortho Plus line of Sealy Classics. Construction, depth and guarantee terms come from Sealy’s own mattress pages and guarantee information, and models Sealy no longer lists or makes for one retailer were checked on the selling retailer’s product page. Prices, stock and trial terms for every UK size were read from Mattress Online, Mattressman, Bensons for Beds, The Sleep Shop, Trio Furnishings and Perfect Dreams on 28 September 2026.

Each mattress carries our overall score out of 10, weighted roughly 30% comfort, 25% support, 15% temperature and 30% value. Support reflects the spring unit (AlignSupport, or PostureTech with a lumbar Powerpack) and any firmer zone in the centre third, comfort reflects the layers above it, and value sets the double price against the 5, 7 or 10-year guarantee and the retailer’s trial. Published results from Ideal Home are named where they exist, but they do not replace our score. Rank follows score. Where scores tie, a mattress you can order online with a published price and a retailer trial comes first, then the lower double price, which puts the Mellbreak and Steeple above the Hawking Medium and the Newton above the Grasmoor and Turing. The Elevate UltraLux Anniversary Medium is not ranked, because no UK retailer publishes a price for it and M6 Beds and Bridge Bedding quote on request.

Quick overview

All products compared

All Mattresses
# Product Recommended for Material Firmness Sleep trial Warranty Rating Price
1 Sealy Sealy Posturepedic Elevate Blackwood Mattress Firm Posturepedic AlignSupport twice-tempered coil spring unit with UniCased edge support and BasePlank, a firm and… Firm 100 nights 7 yrs 7.8 from £723 Offer
2 Sealy Sealy Mellbreak Ortho Plus Mattress Firmest feel PostureTech Core Support spring unit with an EdgeGuard encapsulated border and a central PowerPack… Firm 100 nights 5 yrs 7.7 from £308 Offer
3 Sealy Sealy Steeple Ortho Plus PostureTech Mattress Firmer, not extra firm PostureTech open-coil spring unit with a central Powerpack for lumbar support and an Edge… Firm 60 nights 5 yrs 7.7 from £459 Offer
4 Sealy Sealy Elevate Ultra Hawking Medium Medium feel AlignSupport coil spring unit with UniCased XT edge support and BasePlank, MemorySense ComfortCore in… Medium – 7 yrs 7.7 from £1,266.75 Offer
5 Sealy Sealy Newton Posturepedic Mattress Latex comfort AlignSupport twice-tempered coil spring unit with UniCased edge support and BasePlank, latex ComfortCore in… Firm 40 nights 10 yrs 7.6 from £1,299.99 Offer
6 Sealy Sealy Ortho Plus Grasmoor Current Ortho Plus flagship PostureTech CoreSupport twice-tempered spring unit with an EdgeGuard border and a central Powerpack for… Firm – 5 yrs 7.6 from £459 Offer
7 Sealy Sealy Elevate Ultra Turing Plush For side sleepers AlignSupport coil spring unit with UniCased XT edge support and BasePlank, MemorySense ComfortCore in… Medium soft – 7 yrs 7.6 from £1,451.25 Offer
8 Sealy Sealy Elevate Blake Medium Quilted top AlignSupport coil unit, twice tempered, with UniCased edge support and a BasePlank. Sealy Foam… Medium – 7 yrs 7.5 from £1,026.75 Offer

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Which Sealy mattress is best?

The Sealy Posturepedic Elevate Blackwood is the best Sealy mattress for most buyers, a firm 28cm AlignSupport model at £965 in a double with a 7-year guarantee and Mattress Online's 100-night comfort exchange. Choose the Elevate Ultra Hawking Medium instead if you want a medium feel, or the Mellbreak Ortho Plus at £449 in a double if you want the firmest and cheapest Sealy in this comparison.

Are Sealy Posturepedic mattresses good for back pain?

Sealy Posturepedic mattresses are built around spinal support, and Sealy develops their springs with an International Orthopaedic Advisory Board. The strongest independent evidence, a 313-person trial in The Lancet, found that medium-firm mattresses (5.6 on a 1-to-10 scale where 1 is the firmest) eased chronic low back pain and disability more than firm ones (2.3) after 90 days. That points to the Hawking Medium, the Blake Medium or the Newton in Medium rather than the firm, tufted Ortho Plus models.

Where can I buy a Sealy mattress in the UK?

You buy a Sealy mattress from a retailer, because sealy.co.uk shows no prices and sends shoppers to a retailer finder. Mattress Online and Bensons for Beds sell Sealy models under their own names, such as the Blackwood and the Newton, the Mellbreak Ortho Plus is still sold by Mattress Online, Mattressman and The Sleep Shop although Sealy no longer lists it, and independent bed shops carry the Ortho Plus Grasmoor. Our Sealy brand page covers the company itself.

How long is the Sealy mattress guarantee?

Sealy gives a 7-year guarantee on Sealy Posturepedic mattresses and 5 years on Sealy Classics such as Ortho Plus, according to its guarantee terms. Claims go through the retailer first, and Bensons adds its own 10-year guarantee on the Newton.

Is there a Sealy mattress sale or clearance?

Sealy mattress sales run through retailers, and Sealy's own promotions page listed up to 35% off Sealy Posturepedic at selected retail partners in September 2026. That month Mattress Online sold the Blackwood single at £723 against a regular £779 and an RRP of £1,299, and The Sleep Shop took 25% off the Elevate Ultra Turing and Hawking, with no end date on either, so treat the reduced figure as the normal price and compare it across shops. For clearance, Mattressman runs an outlet section of ex-display, sleep-trial returns and lightly marked stock.

Do you need to turn a Sealy mattress?

Single-sided Sealy mattresses such as the Blackwood only need rotating head to toe, while double-sided Ortho Plus models such as the Mellbreak, Steeple and Grasmoor should be turned and rotated. Sealy's guarantee terms make this care routine a condition of the guarantee.

What is the difference between Sealy Posturepedic and Ortho Plus?

Sealy Posturepedic mattresses use Sealy's patented AlignSupport or RestSupport coil units with a UniCased edge and carry a 7-year guarantee. Ortho Plus belongs to the cheaper Sealy Classics family, with a PostureTech spring unit, a lumbar Powerpack, hand tufting on both sides and a 5-year guarantee, and the Steeple Ortho Plus costs £549 in a double.

What sizes do Sealy mattresses come in?

All eight Sealy mattresses in this comparison are made in UK single (90x190), double (135x190), king (150x200) and super king (180x200), and the Mellbreak also comes as a small double (120x190), though the Steeple's super king is a zip-and-link pair and the Grasmoor single comes from a different stockist than its larger sizes. A Blackwood king costs £1,079 at Mattress Online, and on sealy.co.uk 25 of the 31 mattresses also come as a small double.

Buying guide

Mattresses compared

All Mattresses comparisons

10 products compared Ranking · Updated 28/09/2026

Best mattresses 2026

The best mattress for most UK sleepers is a medium-firm model that keeps your spine aligned in your usual sleeping position, stays cool through the night …

9 products compared Ranking · Updated 28/09/2026

Best Simba mattresses

Choosing the best Simba mattress comes down to three differences inside one UK range: how deep and how heavily sprung the model is, whether its comfort …

10 products compared Ranking · Updated 28/09/2026

Best foam mattresses

The best foam mattress is an all-foam build that stays cool enough for you, sits close to medium-firm and comes with a trial long enough to …

8 products compared Ranking · Updated 28/09/2026

Best Silentnight mattresses

The best Silentnight mattress is the model whose support system and comfort layer suit the way you sleep, because the brand builds its range in distinct …

10 products compared Ranking · Updated 28/09/2026

Best air mattresses

The best air mattress for a spare room is a raised bed with a built-in mains pump, while a camping air bed needs a pump that …

8 products compared Ranking · Updated 28/09/2026

Best Emma mattresses

Choosing an Emma mattress in the UK comes down to pocket springs or all-foam, a feel between medium-soft and medium-firm, and how much comfort depth you …